Vishnu: The source of Incarnations

Vishnu Incarnations1

Vishnu : The lord of universe by means of various incarnations maintains all the planets inhabited by demigods, men and animals. As per the vedic scriptures there are 24 incarnations of Lord Vishnu.

  • The Universal form – Lord appeared in this form with the view to commence creation. This incarnation was full of all 16 supernatural powers (kalas).
  • Sanat Kumar– Manasputra of Lord Brahma and throughout life was engaged in severe austerities and from him the Brahmans got inspiration and knew the value of penance.
  • The Varaha (boar) incarnation – During this incarnation, Lord took the mother earth out of the sea and slays the demon Hiranyaksha.
  • Devarshi Narada– Lord in his form of Narada Muni spread the devotional service throughout the universe.
  • Nara and Narayana – The sons of wife (Kala) of king Dharma who performed severe illustrative austerities to control senses.
  • Kapila Muni – He interpreted the metaphysics (Sankhya philosophy) which was lost during the course of time to Asuri Brahmana.
  • Dattatreya – The son of Rishi Atri and his wife Anasuya as an incarnation of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva. He explained the subject of perfection to Alarka, Prahlada etc.
  • Yajna – The son of Prajapati Ruci and his wife Akuti, and controlled the universal affairs during the period of Svayambhuva Manu assisted by his own son Yama and other demigods.
  • King Rishabh – Lord appeared as the son of King Nabhi and his wife Marudevi and showed the path of perfection.
  • King Prithu – During this incarnation lord cultivated the mother earth and made it beautiful.
  •  Matsya (fish) Incarnation – After the period of Chakshusha Manu, when the whole world was drowned into water Lord took the form of fish to save Vaivasvata Manu.
  • Kachhap (tortoise) Incarnation – In this form of tortoise, lord served as the axis for the Mandrachal Mountain which was used as the churning rod by the demons and demigods.
  • Dhanvantari – During this incarnation, Lord appeared from the ocean holding a pot of nectar.
  • Mohini – In this incarnation Lord took the form of a beautiful woman thus attracting the demons of her beauty and distributed the nectar to demigods.
  • Narasimha – During his incarnation, lord acquired the body of half human and half animal. He tore apart the body of demon Hiranyakashipu with his sharp nails.
  • Hayagriva – During this incarnation, Lord protected the Vedas, which were abducted by a demon.  In this incarnation the body resembled that of Narayana and face resembled like horse.
  • Vaman – Lord took the form of a dwarf Brahman and asked Maharaja Bali for 3 steps of land in donation thus acquiring back the kingdom of three planetary systems which King Bali had won from demigods.
  • Parashuram – Lord took this incarnation and annihilated the Kshatriya kings seventeen times when they started behaving ruthlessly with Brahmins and donated the earth to Brahmins.
  • Vyasadeva – During this incarnation as Rishi Vyas, Lord wrote eighteen Mahapuranas and the Mahabharata and also divided the Vedas.
  • Shri Ram– During this incarnation, Lord defeated many demons like Ravana, Kumbhakarna, etc. He also taught the lesson of morality.
  • Balram– In this incarnation Lord appeared as the son of king Vasudev and his wife Rohini and the younger brother of Lord Krishna. Along with Krishna he killed many demons and released the burden of mother earth.
  • Lord Krishna – This was the incarnation with sixteen supernatural powers of Lord (solah Kala). During this incarnation Krishna killed the demon Kansa along with many other demons. He also preached the lessons of Bhagavad Gita to Arjuna during Mahabharata.
  • Gautam Buddha– In the beginning of Kaliyuga, lord appeared as Buddha and dissuaded the demons from performing Yagya, for regaining power and authority from gods.
  • Kalki – At the end of Kaliyuga when the sins will reach its proximity and all the kings themselves will become thieves then lord will incarnate himself in the form of Kalki taking birth in the Brahmin family of Vishnuyasha. Thus he will kill all sinners and re-establish the reign of Dharma and virtuosity.

Hare Rama Hare Rama, Rama Rama Hare Hare

Hare Krishna Hare Krishna, Krishna Krishna Hare Hare


Varaha avatar vishnu kurma matsya2

Facebook Comments